This feature can be used to stop someone from opening your Sidekick program, or if you have more than one user, it can be used to restrict user(s) access to parts of Sidekick that you do not want them in.
Once security is set up, when a user attempts to open Sidekick they must enter their user name as well as a password. This will be required every time Sidekick is opened. Sidekick security is optional. You can choose to set up security or not use it at all, however, we recommend it!
With the security system, you can restrict access to particular areas of Sidekick. For example, you can set up a user who does not have the ability to delete charges or payments.
This feature can be used to discourage employee theft. We have had reports of users of property management software collecting a cash payment from a tenant, collecting the payment and printing a receipt for the tenant. Once the tenant leaves the office, the charges and payment are deleted, and the funds are pocketed by the employee. The owner of the business may not be alerted of an unpaid rent since the charge is no longer in the system.
Even if you forget to setup security, don't worry! Sidekick has an activity log, which is recording all user's actions in the software. This log can't be deleted by any user. The manager can always go back at least 365 days and see a log of each of all user's actions in order to determine if improper use or theft is going on. This is a wonderful safeguard that Sidekick provides.
If a user tries to access an area in Sidekick that they do not have authority to access, they will get a message "The current user does not have authority to access this feature."
Security can be set so that a user can only see the properties and the tenants that they are managing. In this way you can limit the amount of information that users see on their screen. For example, you may have multiple on-site managers that log in to the Sidekick database on one server. Each of the on-site managers can be set up to view only the properties that they manage.
Multiple Log in's
If a user tries to log in three times with the wrong password, the log in screen will close. This is a safeguard to prevent someone from using an automatic log in generating software to try to gain entry to the software. A user may find it frustrating to be thrown out after three tries, however can protect you from a real threat to your data.
The first person to set up security will be the Sidekick administrator. The administrator has authority to perform all functions in the software. The administrator will create the name of each user and select what functions the user will be allowed to access as well as the properties they can view when they log in with their unique password. The first time you open security, the administrator will be guided through the setup process by a wizard. The first time each user logs in to Sidekick, they will be prompted to create their own password. You can set up more than one person with administrator rights.
Note: Sidekick does not provide complete security. It will not prevent someone from going into your computer and deleting your database. To prevent data loss, frequently back up your data and put your back ups in a secure location.
To setup security for the first time:
To add more users:Only the administrator can add additional users.
Note: If you give a user access to "Change Security Settings" that user will have full administrative functions in Sidekick security.
To set a user to only have access to certain properties:
The list on the left displays all of your properties, the list on the right will display the properties the current user will be able to see when they are using Sidekick.
5. Highlight the properties you want to move from one list to another and press the Add (>>) or Remove (<<)
To delete a user: (Only the administrator can delete users.)
To delete the entire security system: (Only the administrator can delete users or delete security entirely.)
To reset a password: (Only the administrator can reset a user's password.)
The next time this user logs in, she/he will be required to select a new password.
If you have lost your password: Sidekick provides a service that will delete your security so you can get back to work. You will need to provide verification that you have authority to erase security. There is a charge for this service.
To add a second administrator:
You cannot comment on this entry